2019 cricket world cup format

2019 cricket world cup format

2019 Cricket World Cup will take place in England & Wales during the summer starting from 30th May 2015 to 15th July 2015, it will be the 12th 50 over cricket world cup and 5th to take place in England. Last time World Cup took place in England was back in 1999 where Australia won the competition.

The final of the 2019 Cricket world cup will be played at Lords in London while Oval cricket ground will host the opening match. England will get the direct qualification to the 2019 world cup


The 2019 World Cup will feature 10 teams, a decrease from previous World Cups in 2011 and 2015 which featured 14 teams. The hosts, England, and the top seven other teams in the ICC one-day international ranking as of 30 September 2017 earned automatic qualification, with the remaining two spots being decided by the 2018 cricket world cup

At the time of the announcement of the qualification structure, ICC associates members, who were guaranteed four spots in the previous two World Cup tournaments, could be represented by at most two teams, and possibly none at all if they were beaten by the lowest ranked Full Members in the Qualifier. It also meant that at least two of the 10 Test playing nations at the time of the announcement would have to play in the qualifying tournament, and could possibly miss the World Cup finals entirely.

Following the recent success, Ireland and Afghanistan were promoted into the ICC ODI Championship and have also since been promoted to full members of the ICC, becoming the newest Test cricketing nations. However, they still needed to qualify for the World Cup via the current process.

Afghanistan won the qualifying tournament defeating the West Indies in the final. Both teams qualified for the World Cup, while Zimbabwe despite hosting the qualifying tournament failed to reach the final and will miss the World Cup for the first time since 1983. Recently appointed full member Ireland will also miss the World Cup for the first time since 2007 and for the first time ever no Associate nation will be participating in the World Cup.

History of the Cricket World Cup

The first world cup was held in 1975 just four years after one day cricket took the world by storm. It was the ICC’s official response to the ‘World series of cricket’ Phenomenon which was proving incredibly popular with fans. In the last 40 years, the tournament has been held all over the cricketing world and has been won by teams from every corner of the globe. The tournament in 2019 will be the twelfth time the competition has been played and the fifth time it has been played in the UK. England and Wales have previously hosted in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999.

Teams Qualified for the 2019 Cricket World Cup

Automatically Qualifier

  • England


Current qualifiers based on current ICC One Day International rankings

  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Pakistan


Participants in the 2018 World Cup qualification tournament

  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwe
  • Afghanistan
  • Ireland
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Netherlands
  • Hong Kong
  • Scotland


In the past, a variety of formats have been used but the reduced number of teams this year means that the format will be much simpler than in previous years. In 2018 there will only be one central group consisting of all 10 teams. In this group stage, every nation will play each other once meaning that there will be a total of 45 group games before the finals stage. Because of this extended group phase, the quarterfinals have been abolished and the top 4 teams will instead progress directly to the semi-finals with the remaining 6 nations knocked out of the tournament. The winners of each respective semi will progress to the final and the winner of that match will be declared world champion.


Lords, the spiritual home of cricket will play host to the final while The Oval will host the opening game. The two semi-finals according to the English cricket board will be played at Edgbaston and Old Trafford. The London stadium will host the opening ceremony and some group stage fixtures. The rest of the games will be played across England and Wales at the grounds which meetICC’s ICCs size and capacity requirements. A list of these stadiums is below.

Favourites to win the 2019 Cricket World Cup

After winning the last World cup Australia are deserved favourites with India and South Africa not far behind. It’d be interesting to see if Steve Smith and2019 cricket world cup

2019 cricket world cup

ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy.

David Warner will make it back to the world cup playing eleven after completing their one-year ban for being involved in ball tampering this year against South Africa. Somewhat surprisingly and disappointingly for the hosts, England is the only fourth favourite despite the host country historically having a massive advantage. As you would expect all test playing nations are more heavily favoured than the affiliate nations suggesting that the bookmakers believe that they will have no trouble qualifying via the qualification tournament. It should be noted that since the tournament is still over a year way that the above odds are likely to change

One thought on “2019 cricket world cup format

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *